Look Inside

Voices Made Night (African Writers Series)

In this collection of stories, the Mozambican poet, Mia Couto, expresses, through striking poetic metaphors, the emptiness and absurdity of lives bound by poverty and subject to arbitrary incursions of extreme violence. The frustrated longing of the lipless snake catcher who surrounds his lady’s house with snakes; or the man who fears his wife is a witch and scalds her with boiling water, are caught in dual tension. In Voices Made Night, an African cosmology portrays a surreal world defined by its contradictions, set against a background of political instability.


Weight 0.120 kg

Mia Couto




African Writers Series


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Voices Made Night (African Writers Series)”