Silas Marner (Hardcover)


Out of stock

Although the shortest of George Eliot’s novels, Silas Marner is one of her most admired and loved works. It tells the sad story of the unjustly exiled Silas Marner – a handloom linen weaver of Raveloe in the agricultural heartland of England – and how he is restored to life by the unlikely means of the orphan child Eppie. Silas Marner is a tender and moving tale of sin and repentance set in a vanished rural world and holds the reader’s attention until the last page as Eppie’s bonds of affection for Silas are put to the test.

Additional information

Weight 0.440 kg




George Eliot

Mary Ann Evans was born in November 1819, in Warwickshire, England, to a local mill-owner, Robert Evans and his wife Christiana Evans. Mary adopted the male pseudonym, George Eliot, to ensure that her works were taken seriously.
Eliot’s first major literary work was an English translation of the Life of Jesus (1846) by Strauss. Some of her earliest prose writings were published in Bray’s newspaper, the Coventry Herald and Observer.

Her short narratives were followed by a long novel, Adam Bede, which was published in 1859. An instant success, it built her reputation. But the public soon became suspicious about the author behind George Eliot. and by the time of the publication of the Mill on the Floss in 1860, her authorship had been tentatively guessed by many.

The Mill on the Floss is a remarkable portrayal of childhood with gradually developing characters. Tt was followed by Silas Marner (1861), Romola (1863), Felix Halt (1866) and Middlemarch (1871-72). Her novels can be termed as those of psychological realism.

Eliot died in 1880 aged sixty-one and was buried at High gate Cemetery. She is still considered the most learned among all the women novelist in the nineteenth century.

Be the first to review “Silas Marner (Hardcover)”


There are no reviews yet.

Main Menu

Silas Marner (Hardcover)