• Hot

    An Angel Just Like Me

    Age Range: 4 – 8 years

    As Tyler and his family decorate the Christmas tree, he begins to wonder: Why are all the Christmas tree angels blonde-haired, pink-cheeked little girls? Aren’t there any black angels? No one can answer his question — not his mom, not his dad, not even Carl, the mall Santa.

    As Tyler combs the stores looking for a black angel, he discovers there are none to be found. But sometimes Santa has a surprise or two in his sleigh.

    Beautifully written and illustrated, this appealing story tackles the serious issues of race and gender in a way that all children can understand.

    15.00
    Quick View
  • Out Of Stock

    Annie John

    Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice―urgent, demanding to be heard―is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

    An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world.”

    70.00

    Annie John

    70.00
    Quick View
  • Out Of Stock

    Crossing the River

    From the acclaimed author of Cambridge comes an ambitious, formally inventive, and intensely moving evocation of the scattered offspring of Africa. It begins in a year of failing crops and desperate foolishness, which forces a father to sell his three children into slavery. Employing a brilliant range of voices and narrative techniques, Caryl Phillips folows these exiles across the river that separates continents and centuries.

    Phillips’s characters include a freed slave who journeys to Liberia as a missionary in the 1830s; a pioneer woman seeking refuge from the white man’s justice on the Colorado frontier; and an African-American G.I. who falls in love with a white Englishwoman during World War II. Together these voices make up a “many-tongued chorus” of common memory—and one of the most stunning works of fiction ever to address the lives of black people severed from their homeland.

    90.00
    Quick View
  • Emmanuella’s Special Day – Hardcover

    Age Range: 6 months – 2  years

    This board book for babies celebrates Ghana’s customary naming ceremony.

    An outdooring and naming ceremony is an occasion in Ghana when a newborn experiences the outside world for the first time and receives a name.

    17.00
    Quick View
  • Every Day Is for the Thief

    A young man decides to visit Nigeria after years of absence.  Ahead lies the difficult journey back to the family house and all its memories; meetings with childhood friends and above all, facing up to the paradox of Nigeria, whose present is as burdened by the past as it is facing a new future.

    Along the way, our narrator encounters life in Lagos. He is captivated by a woman reading on a danfo; attempts to check his email are frustrated by Yahoo boys; he is charmingly duped buying fuel.  He admires the grace of an aunty, bereaved by armed robbers and is inspired by the new malls and cultural venues.  The question is: should he stay or should he leave?

    But before the story can even begin, he has to queue for his visa…

    Every Day is for the Thief is a striking portrait of Nigeria in change.  Through a series of cinematic portraits of everyday life in Lagos, Teju Cole provides a fresh approach to the returnee experience.

    30.00
    Quick View
  • Mutilated

    Barbara Aseke, a ten-year-old primary school pupil, is brutally circumcised and dies from haemorrhage. Her needless death outrages the sensibilities of many, including Dr. Blankson who is unable to save her life. When, in spite of the tragedy, Dr. Blankson’s wife Sarah, wilfully submits herself and undergoes genital mutilation, she reveals the ethnic and cultural diversity that tears their marriage apart. Dutch missionary, Father Willem van Ruisdeal, concerned organisations, Dr. Yvonne Alhassan, Dr. Blankson and even a subdued Sarah, work tirelessly together to eradicate the harmful and obnoxious traditional practice, particularly in the north of Ghana.

    The novel tells in lurid details the harrowing experiences and the suffering of millions of girls and women in Africa and thousands of African immigrants in the Western World.

    25.00

    Mutilated

    25.00
    Quick View
  • Mysteries of the Golden Stool (Sika Dwa) – Hardcover

    Mysteries of the Golden Stool is an historical fantasy adventure story built around the Kingdom of Asante, its vibrant culture and its most sacred relic – the Golden Stool.

    The ruler of this kingdom is very powerful. He derives his power and authority from his occupancy of the Golden Stool, the symbol of state, the spiritual soul of the kingdom of Asante, which holds the unity and strength of the Asanteman, the kingdom.

    The story elucidates the journey of a thief of ancient relics whose decision to steal the Golden stool sets into motion a thrilling fantasy battle with departed kings and guardians of the Golden Stool in an ancient mausoleum.

    A cosmopolitan Asante academic transforms into the reluctant hero who defends his heritage and finds the love of his life.

    250.00
    Quick View
  • Mysteries of the Golden Stool (Sika Dwa) – Paperback

    Mysteries of the Golden Stool is an historical fantasy adventure story built around the Kingdom of Asante, its vibrant culture and its most sacred relic – the Golden Stool.

    The ruler of this kingdom is very powerful. He derives his power and authority from his occupancy of the Golden Stool, the symbol of state, the spiritual soul of the kingdom of Asante, which holds the unity and strength of the Asanteman, the kingdom.

    The story elucidates the journey of a thief of ancient relics whose decision to steal the Golden stool sets into motion a thrilling fantasy battle with departed kings and guardians of the Golden Stool in an ancient mausoleum.

    A cosmopolitan Asante academic transforms into the reluctant hero who defends his heritage and finds the love of his life.

    150.00
    Quick View
  • Serwa Akoto’s Diary

    Take a peek into the secret diary of the smart, sassy but somewhat unpredictable Serwa Akoto, as she seeks to blend her Ghanaian heritage and her Canadian lifestyle…without giving up either one. Can this self-proclaimed ‘Goddess of Fine’ truly have it all?
    30.00
    Quick View
  • Hot

    Sharp the Dog

    Age Range: 4 – 8 years

    A moving story about a boy and his faithful dog.

    10.00

    Sharp the Dog

    10.00
    Quick View
  • The Cemetery Without Graves

    A gripping story that details experiences of Africans who travel across the desert seeking to reach Europe

    Driven by the desire to pursue better living standards and see the other side of the world, three young individuals from different backgrounds leave home with very little knowledge of their destination and embark on a very dangerous journey that will take them through some of the poorest regions in West Africa, through the treacherous wilderness of the Sahara desert and the Mediterranean sea.

    Dede, young, beautiful and unspoiled confides in her elder sister and leaves home to broaden her horizon. Billy, a frustrated young man who had wanted to make money by any means commits an abominable crime and leaves home in search of prosperity. Paa Kofi, a fun loving handsome young man who wants his own freedom decides to leave home and pursue his dreams. He finds love en route to his destination.

    These three young individuals in the course of their journey caught up with other desperate people who have also left home in pursuit of prosperity in spite of all the dangers that lay ahead. This book, which is based on factual findings, exposes some of the untold and shocking horrors of the Sahara desert and the Mediterranean.

    20.00
    Quick View
  • -10%

    The River’s Power

    “I know that my country must have this dam,” Enyonam Agbeko said. “I am reconciled, though the land I farmed for forty years is now flooded. My father and my grandfather and even his father farmed that land before me.” He shook his head and swallowed quickly as if there were a lump in his throat. “But,” he continued, “I cannot look at this lake without crying.”

    A dam is built across the Volta River at Akosombo in Ghana. This historical novel tells, in absorbing detail, the background to the dam project, the intricacies of international funding, the problems of dam construction and the remarkable achievement of generating hydroelectric power. These are balanced against a human problem of the greatest magnitude and complexity – the resettlement of thousands of displaced people, flooded out of their ancestral homes by the resultant lake.

    The River’s Power is a book about the ideals of a people, about their aspirations, about their hopes, about their sacrifices and about their remarkable achievements.

    22.5025.00

    The River’s Power

    22.5025.00
    Quick View
X