• Adventures of Cleopas (Peggy Oppong Novel)

    When Cleopas Onini was born, he had two front teeth and drank a big cup of porridge. At his naming ceremony, his uncle who had lived on top of a tree for 30 years climbed down to witness the occasion. As the family argued about the appropriate name for the baby, eight-day-old Cleopas sat up in his bed and clapped his tiny hands to show his preference for the name his uncle Ofutu announced. Everybody, including the catechist, took to their heels as they witnessed the strange scene. At three months, he could sit up, crawl and talk.

    20.00
    Quick View
  • Out Of Stock

    Annie John

    Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice―urgent, demanding to be heard―is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

    An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. “For I could not be sure,” she reflects, “whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world.”

    70.00

    Annie John

    70.00
    Quick View
  • Asymmetry: A Novel

    Winner of a 2017 Whiting Award

    A TIME and NEW YORK TIMES TOP 10 BOOK of the YEAR

    New York Times Notable Book and Times Critic’s Top Book of 2018

    NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2018 BY Elle, Bustle, Kirkus Reviews, Lit Hub, NPR, O, The Oprah Magazine, Shelf Awareness

    The bestselling and critically acclaimed debut novel by Lisa Halliday, hailed as “extraordinary” by The New York Times, “a brilliant and complex examination of power dynamics in love and war” by The Wall Street Journal, and “a literary phenomenon” by The New Yorker.

    Told in three distinct and uniquely compelling sections, Asymmetry explores the imbalances that spark and sustain many of our most dramatic human relations: inequities in age, power, talent, wealth, fame, geography, and justice. The first section, “Folly,” tells the story of Alice, a young American editor, and her relationship with the famous and much older writer Ezra Blazer. A tender and exquisite account of an unexpected romance that takes place in New York during the early years of the Iraq War, “Folly” also suggests an aspiring novelist’s coming-of-age. By contrast, “Madness” is narrated by Amar, an Iraqi-American man who, on his way to visit his brother in Kurdistan, is detained by immigration officers and spends the last weekend of 2008 in a holding room in Heathrow. These two seemingly disparate stories gain resonance as their perspectives interact and overlap, with yet new implications for their relationship revealed in an unexpected coda.

    A stunning debut from a rising literary star, Asymmetry is “a transgressive roman a clef, a novel of ideas, and a politically engaged work of metafiction” (The New York Times Book Review), and a “masterpiece” in the original sense of the word” (The Atlantic). Lisa Halliday’s novel will captivate any reader with while also posing arresting questions about the very nature of fiction itself.

    100.00
    Quick View
  • Born on a Tuesday

    Winner of the 2017 Betty Trask Prize
    A Finalist for the Nigeria Prize for Literature
    Nominated for 2017 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award

    Longlisted for the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature

    From two-time Caine Prize finalist Elnathan John, a dynamic young voice from Nigeria, Born on a Tuesday is a stirring, starkly rendered first novel about a young boy struggling to find his place in a society that is fracturing along religious and political lines.

    This novel explores life, love, friendship, loss and the effects of extremist politics and religion on everyday life in Northern Nigeria.

    Dantala lives in Bayan Layi, Nigeria and studies in a Sufi Quranic school. By chance he meets gang leader Banda, a nominal Muslim. Dantala is thrust into a world with fluid rules and casual violence. In the aftermath of presidential elections he runs away and ends up living in a Salafi mosque. Slowly and through the hurdles of adolescence, he embraces Salafism as preached by his new benefactor, Sheikh Jamal. Dantala falls in love with Sheikh’s daughter, Aisha, and tries to court her within the acceptable limits of a conservative setting. All the while, Sheikh struggles to deal with growing jihadist extremism within his own ranks.

    Narrated in Dantata’s raw yet inquisitive voice, this astonishing debut novel explores brotherhood, religious fundamentalism and loss, and the effects of extremist politics on everyday life in contemporary Northern Nigeria.

    60.00
    Quick View
  • Drama Queen

    Age Range: 8+ years

    It is January 1976, and 12-year-old Timi is about to turn 13. S he doesn’t have time to keep the diary she got for Christmas, but she has plenty to say about the perils of being in boarding school.

     

    40.00

    Drama Queen

    40.00
    Quick View
  • Echoes from the Past (Peggy Oppong Novel)

    Phoebe courageously steps in to avert a near-clash between Barbara Fhanuelle, the affluent but caustic-tongued client and the salon owner. Barbara, driven by curiosity to learn more about Phoebe, invites her home. Phoebe meets two men at Barbara’s residence: Felix Newgate, old enough to be Phoebe’s father but a wealthy, handsome and highly-respected doctor who offers her financial security, a future of bliss and also has the active support of Barbara; and Ekow, Barbara’s only son, who is younger, makes Phoebe laugh and open up in a way no one else has done before.

    But everyone, including Barbara, warns her to stay away from Ekow, who breaks women’s hearts.

    Kwaku Amoa, the famous investigative journalist, is convinced the playing field is not level and undertakes to dig up dirt, from Newgate’s past to permanently shame and disqualify him.

    The battle lines are drawn and it promises to be fierce.

    20.00
    Quick View
  • End of the Tunnel (Peggy Oppong Novel)

    She is beautiful and exceptionally brilliant. Born into a happy middle-class family, she appears to have it all. But all that changes when her parents divorce and she, together with her two siblings, are plunged into a nightmare of intense suffering. Her mother comes to the rescue but extreme poverty compels her to put pressure on Sekyiwaa to give up the one passion of her life – a dream to become a pediatrician. She vows nothing will stop her as she fights against surmounting difficulties with dogged determination. She receives a lot of love proposals and a very tempting one from Jeremiah, a handsome undergraduate with lots of money to spend. Sekyiwaa battles with strong emotions, which threaten to derail her cherished plans. Faced with pressures from within and without, will she be able to achieve her dream?

    20.00
    Quick View
  • Julia’s Dance (Peggy Oppong Novel)

    In the small town where she grew up everyone expects Julia, the beautiful intelligent and well-brought up young girl, to marry her childhood sweetheart, Michael.

    All is going on well till Jude Barimah, Julia’s ex lover, and the only person who is aware of the wild, rebellious spirit lying behind her ladylike exterior, appears on the scene asking for reconciliation.

    He convinces her to marry him against her parents’ opposition. Soon after their open antagonism against him, Julia’s mother dies under mysterious circumstances while her father narrowly escapes death.

    When Julia later discovers that behind the glamour, glitter and wealth of Jude Barimah lay blood-curdling secrets, he is determined to silence her forever.

    20.00
    Quick View
  • Kidnapped (Jon Roscoe Thriller #3)

    Age Range: 10 – 15 years

    James Patterson’s BookShots. Short, fast-paced, high-impact entertainment.

    PLEASE HELP BEFORE HE KILLS ME.

    Travelling home for the festive season, Jon Roscoe receives a desperate cry for help.

    This year, Christmas with his family isn’t quite as he had planned…

     

    20.00
    Quick View
  • Hot

    Lost in the Forest

    Age Range: 10 – 14 years

    A girl goes snail-hunting with friends and soon finds out that she is all alone in the forest. A search is mounted for her and she is found dumb in an old man’s hut.

    Who is this old man and how did she end up in his hut? Why did no one know of his dealings with the youth in the village?

    In solving these mysteries, each member of society gleans one lesson or the other for community living.

    10.00
    Quick View
  • Made in Ghana: A Collection of Short Stories

    Made in Ghana is an anthology comprising twenty-five stories co-authored by two young Ghanaian writers, Rodney Assan and Fui Can-Tamakloe.

    This anthology offers a beautiful blend of comical, heart-wrenching and controversial stories suffused with a heavy dose of Ghanaian imagery that is sure to resonate with its readers. The stories draw on many day-to-day experiences that readers can identity with, and also touch on subjects that are often swept under the rug in the Ghanaian society.

    Beautifully-written, each story offers a dose of wry wit, and as any good story should be, leaves the reader wanting more at the end.

    30.00
    Quick View
X